Coming up …

Ok I couldn’t stand it any more – I have put the clothes away!  Not the socks though.  I can see this blog is going to be more of a distraction technique I use on myself to get out of doing any housework.

While putting the clothes away however I did think about what I’m going to cover over the next few weeks.  I’m hoping to talk about:

Poaching eggs – I don’t want to teach anyone how to suck eggs here (ha ha groan), but my friends seem unable to poach eggs without the use of an expensive little saucepan with plastic poachy bits.  So I’m going to have a go at telling you how I do it.

Sledging – Well a bit random but I bake cakes daily for a lovely place called The Mill Cafe Bar and Restaurant in Yaxham, Norfolk, England.  We have had a tonne of snow the past few days and instead of driving the 1 mile to the mile (you try walking with a chocolate Devils Cake), we sleighed.  Indeed Hugo the owner slept there two nights and plans to do the same at the weekend!

Bread Pudding – I LOVE bread pudding.  I used to have a stall on Wayland Farmers Market and by gum I sold allot of bread pudding.  It’s a traditional pudding cake made from stale bread, sugar, eggs, fruit, spices etc.  To be honest I throw pretty much everything in there and I’ve yet to have it go wrong.  One basic recipe can be adapted in so many different ways.

How to freeze eggs – I want to share the magic of freezing eggs.  No one ever believes me when I say they can freeze eggs.  But you can and when I have a glut of eggs in the summer it fantastic.  All I need is a way bigger freezer!

Cereal Choc Bugs – I got a lovely cupcake mould for Christmas from my husband.  It’s a bug mould and i have baked in it but I have discovered so many more uses for it.  So I will share my chocolate tiffin bug’s with you, if you don’t mind.

Apple Roses – I have just discovered these beauties.  I so want to share with you how to do them and how gorgeous they are.

Rum Cake – This cake derived from a disaster of a sponge cake where I used plain flour instead of self raising flour – doh – but I changed it into a rum and chocolate cake drizzled withwhite chocolate. It was a massive hit with my dark rum loving husband.

Cricut – Yes I have a cricut cake and I love it.  It can be tricky if the fondant is not just right but I hope to getting around to getting some tips on here.

I am passionate about locally sourced food and all things frugal.  I want to point you in the direction of other great blogs and bits of advice I find.  My baking has progressed leaps and bounds just by listening to others and taking their advice. Plus anything else that randomly pops into my head …

About Claire Sullivan

Bake - Slice - Eat - Enjoy! An Irish girl living in Norfolk, sharing everything I know about baking and everything I learn along the way. The beautiful County of Norfolk is full of wonderful gems, from cafes's to salons and I can't wait to share them with you. https://bakewithclaire.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in The Building Blocks of Baking. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

