Ford Capri Cake

It was my husband’s 40th birthday and I had to make him a special cake.  He is a classic car fan and owns a Ford Capri, so what better than make a replicate in cake form!  This was my first carved cake and it was much easier than I had feared.   Give yourself plenty of time and you will be fine.

Ford Capri Cake

Ford Capri Cake

1. Find a photograph in profile (side on view) of your favourite car.

2. Bake a nice big square vanilla sponge cake and leave to cool completely ready for carving.   I baked a traybake cake and cut up the bits and stuck them together to get the right shape and width.

3. Hold your car print out along the side of the cake and carve with a sharp knife.  Following the outline of the picture.  I guessed the width and cut the cake in half lengthwise   This gave me extra for bumpers.

4. You can see from the photo that I used buttercream to paste the bits together to get the right shape.  Here the front part of the car is attached with a very thin layer of buttercream.  I guessed the holes needed for the wheels.  I probably made them too deep.

Carving your cake

Carving your cake

5. Now gently cover the entire car with buttercream.  You will see that on the bumper I cut out a little piece of sponge for the front bumpy bit that some modified cars have (there must be a proper name for this part!).  Cover your car at least twice with your buttercream.  Chill between each layer.

Cover your car in buttercream

Cover your car in buttercream

6.  Now the cake is covered in buttercream I covered a kitchen plate in green fondant to replicate grass and popped the car on top.  Then I covered it in white fondant.  I used fondant smoothers to get it totally smooth but you can use your hands – just watch out for finger marks.  Make the fondant reasonably thick so it doesn’t tear.  Take extra care and give yourself lots of time to get it just right. You will see that the fondant slightly glistens  – this is because I have painted it with vodka all over.  Leave to dry.

Cover in white fondant

Cover in white fondant

7. Now you can add the wheels.  I simply rolled black fondant into wheel shapes and used my thumb to make a dent in the middle like real wheels.  I painted the central bit with edible silver metallic paint and used a cocktail stick to attach it to the fondant.

Now add the wheels

Now add the wheels

8. Now you can start adding all the details.  I used the Ford Capri print off from the internet and a photograph of the car to cut out the windows in black fondant.  You can see that I then painted the whole car again with clear vodka.

Start adding the details

Start adding the details

9. I dyed some fondant blue and added the strips to the car as you can see.  It just take’s time and patience to get the details right.

10. Carry on adding the detail.  You will see I have added the bumper strips, the number plates, door handles and the lights at the front.  These are all made from little pieces of fondant shaped and painted.  I wrote the number plate using a black decorating pen.

11. Walla one Ford Capri finished – We went out for a special family meal and I surprised him with the cake.  He was VERY surprised.   I made some extra wheels as candle holders.  Very simple and very effective.

Ford Capri Cake

Ford Capri Cake

About Claire Sullivan

Bake - Slice - Eat - Enjoy! An Irish girl living in Norfolk, sharing everything I know about baking and everything I learn along the way. The beautiful County of Norfolk is full of wonderful gems, from cafes's to salons and I can't wait to share them with you. https://bakewithclaire.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in The Building Blocks of Baking and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Ford Capri Cake

  1. John says:

    Found a link to this from a random google image search. Looks amazing! I will have to leave the page on my screen as a subtle hint for my own birthday!

Leave a Reply

