Make your own Lemon Curd …

This is so easy I wonder why I haven’t made it before.  I have allowed jams and curds to intimidate me for all these years.  Well no more – I’m reluctant to spend up to £4 on a jar of lemon curd when I can make it for pennies.

Homemade lemon curd

Homemade lemon curd

Once you have made your lemon curd you can spread it on bread, or like me, use it to fill cakes and cupcakes.  My next baking job is to make a lemon curd tart.

Difficulty – Easy peasy lemon squeezy

Ingredients

4 lemons and all their zest

200 grams caster sugar

100 grams butter

3 free range eggs and 1 additional egg yolk

Method

1. Put the lemon juice, sugar, butter and zest into a heatproof bowl over a pan of simmering water.  Taking care not to let the water touch the bottom of the bowl (this would be too hot).

2. You don’t need to continuously stir, just keep an eye on it and stir occasionally until the butter has melted.

3. Now lightly whisk the eggs and extra yolk and add to the mixture.

4. Continue to cook and stir occasionally for about 11 to 14 minutes or until the mixture is nice and thick and covers the back of a spoon.

5. Remove from the heat and leave to cool, stirring occasionally.

6. Pour into a sterilised jar or use to make a lemon meringue or lemon tart.

Store the lemon curd in the fridge.   It really is delicious.

I am going to assume that I can make orange curd with the same recipe only with oranges instead of lemons.  Or could I mix the two up and have a citrus curd.  Once I have experimented I will share with you how it went.  Or have a go yourself and let me know.

Enjoy xx

Leave it to cook until thick

Lemon curd tart with crumbs.

Lemon curd tart with crumbs. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

About Claire Sullivan

Bake - Slice - Eat - Enjoy! An Irish girl living in Norfolk, sharing everything I know about baking and everything I learn along the way. The beautiful County of Norfolk is full of wonderful gems, from cafes's to salons and I can't wait to share them with you. https://bakewithclaire.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Make your own Lemon Curd …

  1. marthabernie says:

    I had the same experience. I was intimidated and always bought the curd in a jar. Same thing with making lemon pie. So once you make it a few times, it’s a breeze!

  2. Pingback: Make your own Lemon Curd … « homethoughtsfromabroad626

  3. Pingback: Orange Curd Recipe | bakewithclaire

Leave a Reply

