My new silicone mat …

I am so excited as today my new silicone mat arrived.

I have not purchased one before due to the cost and me being tight, but my cake baking friends swear by them so when I found a massive slight second mat for a fiver I couldn’t resist!

I love making pastry but I don’t like clearing up the work surfaces after – flour everywhere.  With a silicone mat you don’t much if any icing sugar for rolling fondant or flour for pastry.  I usually lightly grease it with a bit of trex for added pliability or I dust it very very lightly.  So the genius who invented this should get a baking medal.

You can even roll out your pastry on it, roll it up and pop it in the fridge to chill.  Genius.

Plus I’m sure I will save a fortune in wasted flour and detergent.

Massive Silicone Mat for fondant and pastry.

Massive Silicone Mat for fondant and pastry.

Happy rolling!

For more silicone mould tutorials have a look at Sarah Janes’s silicone blog.

About Claire Sullivan

Bake - Slice - Eat - Enjoy! An Irish girl living in Norfolk, sharing everything I know about baking and everything I learn along the way. The beautiful County of Norfolk is full of wonderful gems, from cafes's to salons and I can't wait to share them with you. https://bakewithclaire.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

