Gooey Chocolate Brownies – delicious!

These brownies are the best I have ever tasted! Ok so self praise is no praise.  Give them a go and let me know how you get on.  I had never realised how varied brownies can be –  from brownies more like chocolate cake to gooey oozy brownies, and a million different ways in between.

English: Cocoa, Cocoa powder, on a sheet of pa...

English Cocoa

Once you have your favourite base recipe you can adapt it to add any number of little extras.  Maybe some nuts or raspberries for a little tartness or add extra chocolate drops!  Not even I could eat these brownies with extra added chocolate!

My brownies are nice and gooey on the inside with a light crust on top. Yum.

Difficulty – medium

Ingredients

100 grams cocoa powder

250 grams butter

500 grams caster sugar

4 medium lightly beaten eggs

100 grams self raising flour

50 grams coconut (optional – it’s more for the texture)

Icing sugar to dust

Method

1. Heat oven to 180 conventional, 160 fan.

2. Grease a 21cm square tin.

3. Melt the cocoa, butter and sugar in a microwave or over the hob until the butter has melted.  Give it a good stir to all the ingredients are combined.

4. Cool slightly while you beat your eggs lightly with a fork.

5.  Stir in the eggs, flour and coconut and mix well.

6. Tip it all into your tin and bake for about 45 mins.  It will be ready when the top has a nice crust but you can still detect a very slight wobble underneath.  If there is no wobble they will still taste great but be a bit less gooey.

7. Here is where you can get more technical.  When you remove the brownies from the oven and to stop them cooking any further immediately place your tin in a bowl or sink of very cold water.  Only a few millimeters, to come no more than half way up the tin.  Do not let the water touch the brownies.

8. Allow the brownies to cool completely in the tray.  Do not try to slice or remove them while hot or even warm as they will be too gooey and will stick like no mans business!

9.  Once completely cool slice and carefully remove.  They should come away nicely once cold.

They freeze wonderfully and quite often when I have the children’s friends and mothers around for tea I pop a couple in the microwave for a minute and serve with ice-cream.  Absolutely divine!

Give them a go – you won’t be disappointed.

About Claire Sullivan

Bake - Slice - Eat - Enjoy! An Irish girl living in Norfolk, sharing everything I know about baking and everything I learn along the way. The beautiful County of Norfolk is full of wonderful gems, from cafes's to salons and I can't wait to share them with you. https://bakewithclaire.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Gooey Chocolate Brownies – delicious!

  1. Helen Tovey says:

    Yum! I’m going to try these tonight! I made your Irish Potato Farls for breakfast yesterday (late for work but well worth it). Whole family loved them – I can see they’re going to become a regular – thank you 🙂

    • Ohhh lovely! Let me know how you get on with them. I just made some more! Last time I doubled the batch and forgot to double the sugar!! Duh. You know what they still turned out gorgeous lol Your family is very lucky!

      • Helen Tovey says:

        Baked them last night – and they were as oozy as you truly promised! Thank you. Also I really liked the fact that ingredients are store cupboard basics (any recipe that needs 200 grams of actual chocolate is doomed in our house – as the choc has long gone!) Thank you again Helen 🙂

      • Ha ha I know exactly what you mean! Plus with the price of chocolate I am a bit more frugal with it especially if you want the good stuff!! I think the cocoa does the tricky nicely and like you say everything is in the cupboard. I often leave out the coconut and they turn out more or less the same. I like these brownies and I am so pleased you like them too! Thank you for letting me know 🙂
        Claire xxxx

Leave a Reply

