Orange Curd Recipe

Ambersweet oranges, a new cold-resistant orang...

I’ve already posted about making lemon curd and I’m promised to find out if I could use the same recipe to make orange curd.  Well yes you can – almost anyway.  I have highlighted in red the differences.  You need to compensate for the size of the lemons as oranges are much bigger.

I used three medium sized juicy oranges and it was maybe a little too much liquid and took over twice as long to thicken.

Difficulty – Easy

Ingredients

3 medium sized oranges or 2 large oranges plus all their zest

200 grams caster sugar

100 grams butter

3 free range eggs and 1 additional egg yolk

Method

1. Add the orange juice, sugar, butter and zest into a heatproof bowl over a pan of simmering water.  Taking care not to let the water touch the bottom of the bowl (this would be too hot).

2. You don’t need to continuously stir, just keep an eye on it and stir occasionally until the butter has melted.

3. Now lightly whisk the eggs and extra yolk and add to the mixture.

4. Continue to cook and stir occasionally for about 20 minutes over a medium heat, until the mixture is nice and thick and covers the back of a spoon.

5. Remove from the heat and leave to cool, stirring occasionally.

6. Pour into a sterilised jar and store in the fridge.

I baked some forced rhubarb muffins filled with orange curd – delicious!  I will share those with you soon.

Now I’m thinking what would lime curd taste like …

About Claire Sullivan

Bake - Slice - Eat - Enjoy! An Irish girl living in Norfolk, sharing everything I know about baking and everything I learn along the way. The beautiful County of Norfolk is full of wonderful gems and I can't wait to share them with you. https://bakewithclaire.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Orange Curd Recipe

  1. Pingback: Healthy Coconut Lime-Curd Bars Recipe « WHOLE LIVING WEB MAGAZINE

  2. marthabernie says:

    I have made lime curd also.

  3. jackie says:

    i have made lime curd it`s delicious

  4. Hi Claire,
    We use a lot of lemon curd with our afternoon teas. Your orange curd recipe sounds very interesting. I will try it soon.

    Regards,
    Marilyn at Simply Splendid Victorian Afternoon Teas

    • Lovely! Let me know how you get on. I am thinking for our next Classical recital afternoon tea I might fill the cakes with lemon or orange curd rather than raspberry jam just for a slight change. I also have a garden bug mould and often bake a nice sponge bug and fill the middle with curd. The kids love it! I like to constantly make small changes to the menu to keep people excited.

Leave a comment